Better Living Through Card Tricks

Atlanta Magician – Mentalist – Speaker Joe M. Turner | News and Comments from the Chief Impossibility Officer

Archive for October 23rd, 2008

Good Morning America Appearance

Posted by Joe M. Turner | TurnerMagic.com on October 23, 2008

I had a surprise this morning when I was informed by a friend that she had seen me on Good Morning America.  It was in a story about “Joe the Plumber” and the effect that this iconic everyman has had on the election.

Now I don’t discuss politics on this blog, because neither your nor my political leanings are relevant to whether I will do a great job speaking or entertaining for you at your event.  I’m sharing this experience because it illustrates an interesting point about linking the performance of magic to a message… whatever the message may be.

A few days ago, the McCain-Palin campaign invited supporters to submit videos about why they are like “Joe the Plumber” – and this morning, Good Morning America did a story about the effect of “Joe the Plumber” on the election.  The story referenced the McCain video project, and a short but magical excerpt from my video was included in the story.

Here’s a link to the ABC story – I’m on about 33 seconds from the end.
http://abcnews.go.com/video/playerIndex?id=6094512

Here’s a link to the original video I submitted to the McCain campaign:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qy0lIYjH5kc

I hope you enjoy watching both of them.

Posted in Performance | Tagged: , | 1 Comment »